Home GENERAL NEWS Uhuru confirms Yatani as the Cabinet Secretary Treasury

Uhuru confirms Yatani as the Cabinet Secretary Treasury

by biasharadigest

Ukur Yatani now confirmed as  Treasury Cabinet Secretary/CFM

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Jan 14 – Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani has been confirmed as the new head of the Treasury Department.

Yatani has been on acting capacity since July 2019 after his predecessor Henry Rotich was forced to stay out of office pending investigations over corrupt dealings on the Arror and Kimwarer dams.

Rotich and his Principle Secretary Kamau Thugge were among the 28 individuals involved in the Arror and Kimwarer Dam scandal.

The two were charged in court in July 2019 accused of conspiracy to defraud the government, failing to comply with procurement law and irregular procurement of insurance policy through single sourcing

During his appointment on acting capacity, Yatani welcomed his appointment saying he will remain committed to delivering on his new role.

“I will continue supporting the president in my new role and working with my colleagues in Cabinet as we steer towards realizing a prosperous nation,” said Yatani.

In his confirmed role the  CS is expected to steer the department’s national economic policy, prepare the government’s annual budget, and manages the national government’s public finances.

Other functions include formulating, implement and monitor macroeconomic policies involving expenditure and revenue.

Yatani will also issue guidelines to national government entities with respect to financial matters and monitoring their implementation and compliance.

His appointment comes two days after he committed to injecting more cash into Kenya Airways that will assist in making the loss-making airline move its operations back to profitability.

The CS has also been at the forefront in pushing the government and counties to clear their pending bills to the private sector.

He issued a directive in December to halt disbursement of funds to county governments until pending bills are cleared

So far Elgeyo Marakwet, Homa Bay, Kajiado, Kericho, Kilifi, Kwale, Laikipia, Makueni, Nyamira Nyandarua, Nyeri Uasin Gishu, Nakuru and Baringo.

Yatani was previously the North Horr MP between 2006-2009 before he was posted to Austria as the ambassador and as Kenya’s permanent representative to the United Nations in Vienna.

He has also served as an assistant minister in the Science and Technology docket in former President Mwai Kibaki’s government before he was elected as the Marsabit Governor on ODM ticket in 2013.


Related Posts

Leave a Comment