Home GENERAL NEWS President signs Appropriation Bill into law releasing Sh161 bn

President signs Appropriation Bill into law releasing Sh161 bn

by biasharadigest

President Uhuru Kenyatta signs into law the Supplementary Appropriation Bill at State House, Nairobi/PSCU

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Jun 19 – President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday signed into law the Supplementary Appropriation Bill to release funds for Government expenditure for the financial year that is ending June 30, 2019.

The law mandates the National Treasury to release Sh161 billion from the Consolidated Fund to various Government departments. The funds are categorised into recurrent expenditure which totals to Sh107.5 billion and development expenditure that is peeged at Sh53.7 billion.

The Appropriation Act authorises among other things the release of Sh8 billion for settlement of pending Government bills. The allocations for pending bills is aimed at effecting the payments to traders who have provided services to the Government in line with the recent directive by the President.

The law the President signed also reflects the continuation of the austerity measures that were entrenched at the beginning of the 2018/19 financial year. The budget tightening measures are reflected in the reduction of Government expenditure by Sh58 billion, which was slashed from various departments.

The State Department of Infrastructure was allocated Sh16.6 billion while the Ministry of Water and Sanitation will receive Sh1.8 billion for development. The State Department for Crop Development will receive Sh8.9 billion while the State Department for Sport Development was allocated Sh9.1 billion.

The State Department of University Education will receive Sh5.3 billion while the State Department of Vocational and Technical Training will receive Shs 2.6 billion. The Teachers Service Commission was allocated Shs 14.1 billion while the State Department of Housing was allocated Shs 7.8 billion and Shs 4.1 billion will go to the State Department of Health.

The Bill was presented to the President for signing by the Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi who was accompanied by the Leader of Majority in the National Assembly Aden Duale and Clerk Michael Sialai.

Related Posts